This season's Heisman Trophy race was defined by quarterbacks who took advantage of second chances.

LSU's Jayden Daniels exploded in his second season after transferring from Arizona State to LSU, Washington's Michael Penix Jr. led the Huskies to an undefeated season after suffering four season-ending injuries at Washington and Oregon's Bo Nix put up otherworldly numbers in the Pac-12 after starting his career at Auburn.

On Saturday night, Daniels stood alone. The Heisman Trust rewarded the Tigers quarterback for an outstanding 50-touchdown season, which included more than 1,000 yards on the ground. Daniels is the first true dual-threat QB to win the prestigious award since Kyler Murray won in 2018, and he joins Joe Burrow as one of two LSU quarterbacks to joint the Heisman fraternity.

MORE: Who was snubbed from the Heisman ceremony?

Here's a look at the 2023 Heisman Trophy winner, the full results and how the finalists stacked up entering the ceremony. 

Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2023?

LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels won the 2023 Heisman Trophy on Saturday night. Daniels finished first in voting, ahead of Michael Penix Jr., Bo Nix, and Marvin Harrison Jr.

Daniels is the third Heisman Trophy winner in LSU history and the second in the last five years. He had an electrifying season as both a passer and a runner, accounting for 50 touchdowns and torching some of the SEC's best defenses.

The Sporting News has everything you need to know from the voting results below.

Update — 8:52 p.m.

Jayden Daniels is looking to follow the Joe Burrow model, and the comparison is pretty close. Both exploded in their second year after transferring to LSU, more than doubling their touchdown pass total. The Heisman Trophy would also be quite the similarity.

Update — 8:40 p.m.

As the broadcast explains, there is no better story among the four finalists than what Michael Penix Jr. has overcome. The Indiana transfer suffered four season-ending injuries in Bloomington, but he kept persisting and is forever a legend at Washington.

Update — 8:30 p.m.

You don't see a married Heisman Trophy finalist too often, but Bo Nix's wife is on hand for the ceremony tonight along with his parents.

Update — 8:20 p.m.

An always soft-spoken Marvin Harrison credits his son for not just being a great player, but most importantly being a good kid. The Hall of Fame receiver is on hand with his other son, Jett, who is several years younger than Marvin Jr.

Update — 8:05 p.m.

In the leadup to the announcement, suits grabbed the attention. Daniels' suit featured photos of himself doing the Heisman pose, while Penix's suit includes the name of his teammates. 

Heisman voting results 2023

Finish Player Pos. School Points 1st 2nd 3rd
1 Jayden Daniels QB LSU 2,029 503 217 86
2 Michael Penix Jr. QB Washington 1,701 292 341 143
3 Bo Nix QB Oregon 885 51 205 322
4 Marvin Harrison Jr. WR Ohio State 352 20 78 136
5 Jordan Travis QB Florida State 85 8 19 23
6 Jalen Milroe QB Alabama 73 4 8 45
7 Ollie Gordon II RB Oklahoma St. 31 1 2 24
8 Cody Schrader RB Missouri 29 1 2 22
9 Blake Corum QB Michigan 28 3 2 15
10 J.J. McCarthy QB Michigan 21 1 7 4

Heisman Trophy finalists' stats

Jayden Daniels, LSU


12 72.2 3,812 40 4


Games Att YDS YPC TD
12 135 1,134 8.4 10

Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State


Games Rec YDS TD AVG
12 67 1,211 14 18.1

Bo Nix, Oregon


13 77.2 4,145 40 3


Games Att YDS YPC TD
13 53 228 4.3 6

Michael Penix Jr., Washington


13 65.9 4,218 33 9


Games Att YDS YPC TD
13 29 -18 -0.6 3

MORE: What a 12-team CFB Playoff bracket would've looked like in 2023

College football award winners 2023

  • Heisman Trophy (outstanding player of the year): TBD
  • Maxwell Award (player of the year): Michael Penix Jr., Washington
  • Davey O'Brien Award (best QB): Jayden Daniels, LSU
  • Doak Walker Award (best RB): Ollie Gordon, Oklahoma State
  • Fred Biletnikoff Award (best WR): Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State
  • John Mackey Award (best TE): Brock Bowers, Georgia
  • Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Payton Wilson, NC State
  • Bronko Nagurski (best defensive player): Xavier Watts, Notre Dame
  • Butkus Award (best linebacker): Payton Wilson, NC State
  • Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back): Trey Taylor, Air Force
  • Rimington Trophy (best center): Jackson Powers-Johnson, Oregon
  • Outland Trophy (best interior lineman): T'Vondre Sweat, Texas
  • Lou Groza Award (best kicker): Graham Nicholson, Miami (OH)
  • Ray Guy Award (best punter): Tory Taylor, Iowa

Heisman Trophy winners history, past 14 winners

Year Player Points Margin of victory
2023 Jayden Daniels, QB, LSU 2,029 328
2022 Caleb Williams, QB, USC 2,031 611
2021 Bryce Young, QB, Alabama 2,311 1,357
2020 DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama 1,856 669
2019 Joe Burrow, QB, LSU 2,608 1,846
2018 Kyler Murray, QB, Oklahoma 2,167 296
2017 Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma 2,398 1,098
2016 Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville 2,144 620
2015 Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama 1,832 293
2014 Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon 2,534 1,284
2013 Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State 2,205 1,501
2012 Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M 2,029 323
2011 Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor 1,687 280
2010 Cam Newton, QB, Auburn 2,263 1,184

2023-12-10T00:35:58Z dg43tfdfdgfd